Mineserver Community

Mineserver => Development => Topic started by: MechWarrior001 on April 06, 2011, 08:48:52 pm

Title: Compiling and running on Fedora 14
Post by: MechWarrior001 on April 06, 2011, 08:48:52 pm
Ok, so I'm trying to compile Mineserver to run on a Fedora 14 installation on a HP Proliant ML370 G3, and I've been looking at the wiki, but I'm not sure if the Debian/Redhat instructions apply to Fedora 14 as-well or if there are separate steps I should take.
Title: Re: Compiling and running on Fedora 14
Post by: Jailout2000 on April 06, 2011, 11:49:36 pm
I never got Mineserver to compile on Fedora 14 (or 13) myself.

Some problem with GCC and some libraries, if I remember correctly.

I was using an Intel Pentium 4 3.0Ghz Single-core w/ Hyper Threading.

As to your question though, it should be able to compile for Fedora with no problems (should)...

Good luck though.
- Jailout2000
Title: Re: Compiling and running on Fedora 14
Post by: MechWarrior001 on April 11, 2011, 08:50:54 pm
Ok so I've managed to get it to partially compile. Here's the log:
Code: [Select]
[User@LinuxBox fador-mineserver-df38d21]$ cmake .
-- The C compiler identification is unknown
-- The CXX compiler identification is unknown
CMake Error: your C compiler: "CMAKE_C_COMPILER-NOTFOUND" was not found.   Please set CMAKE_C_COMPILER to a valid compiler path or name.
CMake Error: your CXX compiler: "CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER-NOTFOUND" was not found.   Please set CMAKE_CXX_COMPILER to a valid compiler path or name.
-- Dependency check: mineserver
-- Dependency check: commands
-- Dependency check: filelog
-- Dependency check: nBreak
-- Dependency check: nether
-- Dependency check: binlog
-- Dependency check: crapMobs
-- Dependency check: cursesui
-- Could NOT find Curses  (missing:  CURSES_LIBRARY CURSES_INCLUDE_PATH)
-- DISABLED: cursesui
-- Dependency check: flatpermissions
-- Dependency check: passiveMobs
-- Target: commands
-- Target: filelog
-- Target: nBreak
-- Target: nether
-- Target: binlog
-- Target: crapMobs
-- Target: flatpermissions
-- Target: passiveMobs
-- Target: mineserver
-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!

I'm pretty sure I have everything installed. Any ideas?
Title: Re: Compiling and running on Fedora 14
Post by: TkTech on April 14, 2011, 01:20:54 am
CMake's build script isn't able to find GCC or G++ (or alternatives). Both are required to compile C and C++.

To make sure they're installed, login as root and do:
yum install gcc
yum install gcc-c++

Then try to build the server again. If you're still running into issues, post back here.
Title: Re: Compiling and running on Fedora 14
Post by: MechWarrior001 on April 15, 2011, 09:03:38 pm
Ok now it's working perfectly fine. But the server is using internal IP 192.168.1.2 and the client I'm testing it on is using internal IP 192.168.1.35, however, when I try to connect, I get a connection time out. The client is on Windows 7. What could be wrong?
Title: Re: Compiling and running on Fedora 14
Post by: Jailout2000 on April 15, 2011, 11:41:25 pm
Did you open Fedora's Firewall control panel and open port TCP 25565?

You will have to login as root (it will bring up a dialog) in order to change anything.
Title: Re: Compiling and running on Fedora 14
Post by: MechWarrior001 on April 18, 2011, 08:19:16 pm
I did open the port in the "Other Ports" section of the FCP, but it still won't connect. All I get are time outs. Perhaps I forgot something?

Edit: A part of me is starting to think that perhaps it's not binding the IP address and ports correctly. As of the current moment it's internal IP is 192.168.1.2. However if I try to use a port that is anything other than 25565 I get a error. If I try to leave it at 0.0.0.0 and use any other port I get a error. If I leave it at 0.0.0.0 at port 25565 it somehow binds to 127.0.0.1, which still won't let me connect. Any work arounds?
Title: Re: Compiling and running on Fedora 14
Post by: thegk01 on May 06, 2011, 08:08:29 pm
Scan the ports from the server with the client machine. If 25565 is displayed, it is a problem with the client's Minecraft or with the servers Mineserver, if it's not displayed, it is a problem with Mineserver.
Did you restarted the server after opening the ports? I don't think you must restart, but try it, maybe this solves the problem  ;)