Mineserver Community

Mineserver => Development => Topic started by: croxis on December 19, 2010, 01:21:22 am



Title: Bandwidth?
Post by: croxis on December 19, 2010, 01:21:22 am
Has anyone done tests on bandwidth usage of this server compared to the official one?


Title: Re: Bandwidth?
Post by: Fador on December 19, 2010, 11:10:29 pm
Has anyone done tests on bandwidth usage of this server compared to the official one?

I did some measurements some weeks back and noticed Mineserver was using much less bandwidth..altought the java server had mobs enabled ;) But the strange thing was the bandwidth went up only when I dug. Maybe I should do the tests again...
I don't have any "official" numbers on this. But I might say the Mineserver is sending less "extra" data.


Title: Re: Bandwidth?
Post by: Ben S. on December 20, 2010, 12:24:53 am
Has anyone done tests on bandwidth usage of this server compared to the official one?

I did some measurements some weeks back and noticed Mineserver was using much less bandwidth..altought the java server had mobs enabled ;) But the strange thing was the bandwidth went up only when I dug. Maybe I should do the tests again...
I don't have any "official" numbers on this. But I might say the Mineserver is sending less "extra" data.

I still have run into one thing however.  Sometimes when you load up a new area, you can see through the ground and see caves way below you before the ground right underneath you.

Is this a problem with the server sending that far data first or is the minecraft client doing a poor job of prioritizing packets?


Title: Re: Bandwidth?
Post by: croxis on December 20, 2010, 02:12:17 am
Good to know. Now I just need to figure out how to integrate python into the plugin system and then I can switch :D